Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

MacFarlane Heritage Sites

 

Visiting Scotland Soon?

By Mary Helen Haines ©2012

www.clanmacfarlane.org

Here are some must-see places for Clan MacFarlane visitors

First for a quick overview, read an introduction to Clan History. Another source for information about the area comes from the Arrochar Heritage Society (The history article was written by Mary Helen Haines in 2005).

Good sites for the first time traveler.Explore Loch Lomond and About Loch Lomond.

When you travel to the area, the two most important and moving places to see are the two islands in Loch Lomond where ruins of former MacFarlane castles can be seen. You will need to rent a boat to visit. Allow about 3 hours. A possible place to rent:

MacFarlane owned enterprise: http://www.balmahaboatyard.co.uk/about.html

 Operating from Luss: http://www.loch-lomond.net/boating/lochlomondleisure.aspx

Read more ...

Explore Loch Lomond

Island I Vow (The island of the cow).

This article is courtesy of our friends at "EXPLORE LOCH LOMOND". They are as excited as I am to have MacFarlane's developing relationships with residents, in the Loch Lomond, Arrochar, Tarbet and Ardlui areas. We have linked with their website and they have reciprocated. Their site is: www.explorelochlomond.co.uk Please check it out.

Enjoy!

Read more ...

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Bitterroot Celtic Games and Gathering
Sat Aug 18 through Sun Aug 19


2018 Quechee Games
Sat Aug 25 through Sat Aug 25


Virginia Scottish Games and Festival
Sat Sep 1 through Sun Sep 2


153rd Scottish Highland Gathering and Games
Sat Sep 1 through Sun Sep 2


Longs Peak Scottish-Irish Highland Festival
Fri Sep 7 through Sun Sep 9


Tulsa Scotsfest
Sat Sep 15 through Sun Sep 16


18th Niagara Celtic Festival
Sat Sep 15 through Sun Sep 16


Ligonier Highland games
Sat Sep 22 through Sat Sep 22


St. Louis Scottish Games and Cultural Festival
Sat Sep 29 through Sat Sep 29


Stone Mountain Highland games
Sat Oct 20 through Sun Oct 21