Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

MacFarlane Heritage Sites

 

 

Visiting Scotland Soon?

By Mary Helen Haines ©2012

www.clanmacfarlane.org

 

Here are some must-see places for Clan MacFarlane visitors

First for a quick overview, read an introduction to Clan History. Another source for information about the area comes from the Arrochar Heritage Society (The history article was written by Mary Helen Haines in 2005).

Good sites for the first time traveler. About Loch Lomond.

When you travel to the area, the two most important and moving places to see are the two islands in Loch Lomond where ruins of former MacFarlane castles can be seen. You will need to rent a boat to visit. Allow about 3 hours. A possible place to rent:

MacFarlane owned enterprise: Balmaha Boatyard

 Operating from Luss: Loch Lomond: On the water

Explore Loch Lomond

Island I Vow (The island of the cow).

This article is courtesy of our friends at "EXPLORE LOCH LOMOND". They are as excited as I am to have MacFarlane's developing relationships with residents, in the Loch Lomond, Arrochar, Tarbet and Ardlui areas. We have linked with their website and they have reciprocated. 

Enjoy!

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Alma Highland Festival and Games
Fri May 24 through Sun May 26


Glasgow Highland games
Fri May 31 through Sun Jun 2


Alleghany County Celtic Festival
Sat Jun 1 through Fri May 31


Salt Lake City Scottish Festival
Fri Jun 7 through Sun Jun 9


Georgetown Highland games
Sat Jun 8 through Sat Jun 8


56th Cobourg Scottish Festival & Highland games
Fri Jun 14 through Sat Jun 15


Caledonia Celtic Festival
Fri Jun 21 through Sat Jun 22


Embro Highland games
Mon Jul 1 through Mon Jul 1


20th Annual Kincardine Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 5 through Sun Jul 7


Orillia Scottish Festival - July 19-21
Fri Jul 19 through Sat Jul 20