Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

Clan MacFarlane History According to The Scottish Nation

As printed in "The Scottish Nation, or, The surnames, families, literature, ... Volumn II" 1877

 

MacFarlane, the name of a clan descended from the ancient earls of the Lennox, the distinctive badge of which was the cypress. In ancient times the land forming the western shore of Loch Lomond, from Tarbet upwards, and the greater part of the parish of Arrochar, was inhabited by "the wild Macfarlane's plaided clan." From Loch Sloy, a small lake near the base of Ben Voirlich, which formed their gathering place, they took their slughorn or warcry of "Loch Sloy! Loch Sloy!" In Gaelic Loch Sluai signifies "the Lake of the host or army"

Read more ...

Clan MacFarlane History by James MacFarlane

The history of Clan MacFarlane by James MacFarlane... 1899

 

The early history of the Clan Macfarlane is so interlinked with the House of the ancient Earls of Lennox that the history of one family is practically the history of the other, until the extinction of the line with the eighth earl of the original House of Lennox.

Read more ...

Clan Events Calendar


Ohio Scottish Games
Fri Jun 22 through Sat Jun 23


81st Embro Highland games
Sun Jul 1 through Sun Jul 1


Kincardine Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 6 through Sun Jul 8


Cambridge Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 20 through Sat Jul 21


Glasgow Lands Scottish Festival
Sat Jul 21 through Sat Jul 21


Glengarry Highland Games
Fri Aug 3 through Sat Aug 4


The Monterey Scottish Games and Celtic Festival
Sat Aug 4 through Sun Aug 5


St. Andrew Annual Highland Games
Sat Aug 4 through Sat Aug 4


Fergus Scottish Festival and Highland Games
Fri Aug 10 through Sun Aug 12


Bitterroot Celtic Games and Gathering
Sat Aug 18 through Sun Aug 19