Clan MacFarlane Worldwide, Inc.

Helping To Connect You With Your Heritage

2017 Creag a’Phuirt, Almshouse Dig

2017Creag4

Between April 11th and April 19th, 2017 CMW worked with Calluna Archaeology to investigate what is likely the Alms House built by James MacFarlane in the 1600's. This site was identified as "Site 28" during the 2016 Walkover survey of the Arrochar Parish

 

 Abstract

An excavation was carried out on a site at Creag a’Phuirt on the west shore of Loch Lomond in 2017. It was thought that this might be an almshouse built by James Macfarlane opposite his house on Island I Vow between 1612 and 1625 to provide for travellers passing through the district. The building proved to be a small, well-built, slightly trapezoidal-shaped structure, with a slate roof, but no obvious entrance or fireplace. The floor consisted of re-deposited loch-side material with water-rolled stones and contained a sherd of late 16th/17th century window glass and a broken sherd of 17th century pottery. Considering its location and date, this structure may well have been the almshouse perhaps comprising two stories, with access from an outer stair. By the mid-19th century the walls had been robbed and the site left ruinous. 

 

  Click the attachment (visible with a paid membership) to download.

 

 

 2017Creag12017Creag2

Search Site

Clan Events Calendar


Caledonia Celtic Festival
Fri Jun 21 through Sat Jun 22


Embro Highland games
Mon Jul 1 through Mon Jul 1


20th Annual Kincardine Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 5 through Sun Jul 7


Orillia Scottish Festival - July 19-21
Fri Jul 19 through Sat Jul 20


Cambridge Scottish Festival
Fri Jul 19 through Sat Jul 20


Glasgow Lands Scottish Festival
Sat Jul 20 through Sat Jul 20


73rd Annual Pacific Northwest Scottish Highland Games and Clan Gathering
Fri Jul 26 through Sun Jul 28


Uxbridge Scottish Festival
Sat Jul 27 through Sat Jul 27


Glengarry Highland Games
Fri Aug 2 through Sat Aug 3


170th Saint Andrew's Society Highland Games - Detroit
Fri Aug 2 through Sat Aug 3